City of Hitchcock Police Department

EMERGENCY/LIFE THREATENING CALLS - 911

NON-EMERGENCY CALLS - 409.986.5559

MUNICIPAL COURT - 409.986.9702

MAP to HPD **CLICK HERE**

English Arabic Chinese (Simplified) French Spanish Vietnamese
YOU ARE HERE: Home Frequently Asked Questions Sex Offender Registration What is a sex offender required to do after the sex offender registers with the local law enforcement agency?

Create PDF Email Print

Hitchcock Police Department: Sex Offender Frequently Asked Questions

What is a sex offender required to do after the sex offender registers with the local law enforcement agency?

Author:
Sgt. Marcus Pitre
Date added:
Saturday, 24 July 2010
Last revised:
never
Hits:
3436
Rating:
 
Vote for this:
Good - Bad

Answer

Registered sex offenders are required to maintain the accuracy of their registration information. Sex offenders accomplish this by periodically verifying their registration information and reporting changes in the information to the offender’s primary registration authority.

Verification of Registration Information

All registered sex offenders must periodically report to the offender’s primary registration authority to verify the offender’s registration information. Offenders civilly committed as a sexually violent predator must verify their registration information once in each thirty-day period. Sex offenders who for a sexually violent offense have been convicted two or more times, received an order of deferred adjudication two or more times, or been convicted and received an order of deferred adjudication must verify their registration information quarterly (every 90 days). All other sex offenders verify their registration information annually.

Changes of Address

Registered offenders must report all changes in address to the proper local law enforcement authorities. First, not later than the seventh day before an intended change in address, a registered sex offender must report in person to the offender’s primary registration authority to report the intended change in address. Second, when a sex offender arrives at a new address in Texas, the sex offender has seven days to report in person to the local law enforcement authority of the municipality or county in which the person’s new residence is located and provide that authority with proof of identity and proof of residence. This local law enforcement authority will become the offender’s new primary registration authority. If sex offender moves to another state, the sex offender has 10 days after arrival in the other state to register with the law enforcement agency that is identified by the Texas Department of Public Safety as the agency designated by that state to receive registration information.

Reporting Changes in Status

In addition to providing notification of all address changes, registered offenders have seven days to notify the offender’s primary registration authority of changes in certain statuses. This includes changes in the offender’s name, physical health, job status, and educational status.

Employment or Enrollment at Institutions of Higher Education

All registered sex offenders who either work at or enroll in a public or private institution of higher education (university, college, community college, or technical or trade institution) must provide notice of that fact to two different entities. First, the offender must notify the authority for campus security (i.e. campus police department) for the institution of higher education that the offender has begun to work or attend school at the institution. Second, the offender must notify the offender’s primary registration authority of the offender’s work or enrollment at the institution of higher education. These notifications must be provided not later than the seventh day after the date the offender begins work or enrollment at the institution of higher education. The offender must also notify the authority for campus security and primary registration authority when the offender terminates work or enrollment at the institution of higher education. This notification must be provided not later than the seventh day after the date the offender terminates work or enrollment at the institution.

Category